NewsArena is an online news media established to disseminate up-to-date and unbiased reportage of issues of public concern, with high level of professionalism, based on truth.

NiMet Predicts Moderate, Heavy Rainfall In Oyo, 14 Other States

The Nigerian Meteorological Agency (NiMet) has warned that at least 15 states across the country will experience moderate to heavy rainfall in the next three days.

The weather agency also said 18 states will experience strong winds between today 6th October, 2023 and tomorrow 7th October, 2023.

The weather predictions are contained in NiMet’s latest edition of impact-based weather forecast bulletin the agency issued in Abuja.

On the rainfall predictions, NiMet said: “Prospects of moderate to heavy rainfall during the forecast period (midnight – 23.59 hours) on Friday, October 6, 2023) exist over parts of Adamawa, Borno, Gombe, Bauchi, Kaduna, Plateau, Taraba, Cross River, Akwa Ibom, Kogi, Kwara, Oyo, Osun, Ekiti, and Ogun states.

“There are chances of moderate to heavy rainfall on Saturday, October 7, (midnight – 23.59 hours) over parts of Adamawa, Taraba, Benue, Nasarawa, Plateau, Cross River, Abia, Akwa Ibom, Rivers, Imo, Anambra, Kogi, Edo, Delta, Bayelsa, Ondo, Ogun, Ekiti, Osun and Oyo states, including the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).


“There is likelihood of moderate to heavy rainfall on Sunday, October 8 (midnight – 23.59 hours) over parts of Taraba, Benue, Plateau, Kaduna, Nasarawa, Cross River, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Delta, Edo, Ondo, Ekiti, Osun, Oyo, and Ogun states.”

The agency noted that there is little or no chance of temperature-related hazards across the country due to the low to moderate temperatures that are anticipated during the period.

NiMet stated that the FCT, Niger, Plateau, and 15 other states may experience strong winds in the next three days.

“In the next three days (October 6, 7, and 8, 2023), there are prospects of strong winds to affect parts of Sokoto, Kebbi, Zamfara, Niger, Katsina, Kwara, Kano, Jigawa, Bauchi, Kaduna, Gombe, Nasarawa, Plateau, Adamawa, Taraba, Yobe, and Borno states, including the FCT.”

...To get more news updates, Join our WhatsApp Group (Click Here) and Telegram Group(Click Here)
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.