NewsArena is an online news media established to disseminate up-to-date and unbiased reportage of issues of public concern, with high level of professionalism, based on truth.

Bye-Election: PDP Picks Candidate To Replace Late Oyo Lawmaker

The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Oyo State has held a primary election on Saturday to choose a new candidate to represent the party in Ibadan South East State Constituency II House of Assembly in the forthcoming by-election..

This was made public by Amb. Taofeek Arapaja, the PDP’s Deputy National Chairman, in Ibadan after the party’s primary.

The election was held to fill the spot left vacant by the death of Hon. Olusegun Popoola, the state assembly Lawmaker who represented the constituency.

Also Read:  2023: PDP G-5 Governors Keep Mum On Atiku's Ambition As Makinde Flags Off Second Term Campaign In Ibadan

According to Arapaja, the primary was witnessed by members of the party, which was won by Hon. Yinka Omikunle.

He added that “the results of the primary held today delivered Hon. Yinka Omikunle as our party’s standard bearer for the rerun election.”

Arapaja responded to Omiyinka’s victory by congratulating him and asking party members to unite for the party’s success.

Also Read:  Rt Hon. Ogundoyin, Olayanju, Ipadeola Charge Oyo Assembly Correspondents On Election Coverage

Arapaja, who is also from the Ibadan South-East LGA, claimed that Yinka Omikunle won the primary after it went smoothly and without incident.

He said, “In line with the INEC guidelines to conduct a rerun election within the stipulated 90 days to fill vacant elective offices, today, our great party, PDP organized a primary election to pick our candidate to replace our departed former representative in constituency II, Ibadan South East Local Government in the Oyo State House of Assembly, Late Hon. Segun Popoola who died some weeks back after a protracted illness”.

Also Read:  Provost, Osun College of Education, Ila-Orangun Suspended

...To get more news updates, Join our WhatsApp Group (Click Here) and Telegram Group(Click Here)
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.