NewsArena is an online news media established to disseminate up-to-date and unbiased reportage of issues of public concern, with high level of professionalism, based on truth.

Unity Cup: Hon. Shina Peller Rewards Winners, Launches Football Club In Iseyin

The 2022 Peller Unity Cup’s organizer, Honourable Shina Peller, who represents the Iseyin/Itesiwaju/Kajola/Iwajowa Federal Constituency, presented cash awards to the competition’s winners on Tuesday.

The goal of the competition was to foster community, engage children in meaningful activities, and discover football potential in all 10 local government areas in Oyo State’s Oke-Ogun axis.

The competition’s winners, Iseyin United, and the runners-up collected their winnings on Tuesday in Iseyin at the mansion of the legislator.

You may remember that Iseyin United defeated Iseyin City 1-0 in the championship game during the Iseyin NYSC Orientation Camp.
Itesiwaju Lions and Itesiwaju Rangers each received two hundred and fifty thousand naira, while Iseyin United received seven hundred and fifty thousand naira, Iseyin City five hundred thousand naira, and Itesiwaju Lions one hundred thousand naira.

Adefabi Afeez of Iseyin United was awarded 250 000 naira by Nairabet as the competition’s Most Valuable Player for his remarkable performance. Adefabi has also been appointed a Nairabet Ambassador, according to the honorable Peller.

Also Read:  Teachers' Day: Gov. Makinde Restates Determination To Employ More Teachers

Peller said during the presentation that he will continue to support sports and actively involve the young of Oke-Ogun, Oyo State, and Nigeria.

The overjoyed businessman thanked everyone for participating, including the losing teams, the Oyo FA, the referees, and the coaches, for an excellent job organizing the competition.

Peller said “Today, I want to thank the Oyo State Football Association, Football Coaches Association, my able local organizing committee and all players who participated in this year edition. I specially thank everyone who contributed in one way or another to the success of the competition; today is a joyous day for us, we want to appreciate the winning team, the second, third and also the fourth position.

“Also, apart from the fact that we supported all team with jerseys, boots, and many other materials, we would also give out token to all twenty teams that took part. This year edition is a success and we can all see it.

“For me , I appreciate success more than money because for you to be successful in life, you have be focused, determined, and consider many factors in life, so I appreciate everyone for this feat.

Also Read:  Details As Oyo Govt. Approves Rehabilitation Of Ibadan Inner Roads

“There were two important reasons why I decided to join politics. The first is the youth constituency of this country; it doesn’t matter may be it is Oke Ogun, Oyo state or Zamafara or Kano; in as much as you are a Nigerian youth, I have the obligation to make life better for you because every generation should be a bridge of hope for the generation coming behind.

“My second reason is because of my root, (Oke Ogun). Oke Ogun has been marginalized, it must be recognized and get the right support, and enabling environment for them to rub shoulders with other zones in the world. Today, we will be lunching our football club in Oke Ogun which is our thing and our intention is to engage our youths. We want something that is continuous and sustainability and we must also create a business development into it.” Honourable therefore seized the opportunity to launch a football club named Iseyin Rocks.

Also Read:  Seyi Makinde To Flag Off Palliative Distribution Exercise On Wednesday

Below is the comprehensive list for the PELLER UNITY CUP SEASON II CASH PRIZES

• Winner: Iseyin United [#750,000.00]
• Second: Iseyin City [#500,000.00]
• Third: Itesiwaju Lions [250,000.00]
• Fourth: Itesiwaju Rangers [100,000.00]
• Most Valuable Player: Adefabi Azeez (Iseyin United)
He was decorated and announced as Nairabet Ambassador with [#250,000.00] courtesy of Nairabet
• Highest Goal Scorer: Aloshe Taofeeq (Itesiwaju Rangers) [#50,000.00]
• Best Behaved Team: Olorunsogo Boys [100,000.00]
• Best Goalkeeper: Olaitan Kamorudeen (Iseyin United) [50,000.00]
• Man Of The Match: Moyosore Adesola (Iseyin City) [50,000.00]
• Best Goal of the Tournament: Fidudusola Olaitan (Iseyin City) [50,000.00]
• Most Entertaining Team (Saki West Rovers) [100,000.00]

...To get more news updates, Join our WhatsApp Group (Click Here) and Telegram Group(Click Here)
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.