NewsArena is an online news media established to disseminate up-to-date and unbiased reportage of issues of public concern, with high level of professionalism, based on truth.

Nat’l Secretariat Picks Caretaker Committee Ahead of Oyo NAWOJ Election

The Oyo State chapter of the Nigeria Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ), an affiliate of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), has been placed under a Caretaker Committee ahead of its June election.

This decision was announced in a statement issued by the NAWOJ National Secretary, Wasilah Ladan, on Thursday, May 22, 2024.

Also Read:  Police Narrates How Cultists Murder Osun Prince

The statement dissolved the Jadesola Ajibola-led NAWOJ leadership in Oyo State and appointed a three-member caretaker committee to manage the chapter’s affairs.

The committee members are Omolara Ayoade (FRCN Chapel), Kehinde Igbari (NTA Chapel), and Adenike Kaffi (Correspondents’ Chapel).

According to the statement, the dissolution was necessary due to the following reasons:

“The Chairperson, Jadesola Ajibola, has been posted out of the state and has exceeded the six-month grace period provided in the NUJ constitution.

Also Read:  Gov. Adeleke Commissions 8.2KM Road In Ibadan • Hails Makinde's Infrastructural Devt.

“Most executive offices in the chapter are vacant due to either the non-qualification of elected officers under the new NUJ constitution or the demise of officers.

“The deletion of some chapels from the Union has also led to vacant offices among ALGIO members in the executive.

“The caretaker committee will preside over the chapter’s affairs and conduct elections into the offices of NAWOJ Oyo Chapter within one month of inauguration.” It concluded

Also Read:  Women, Youths In Iseyin Undergo Irrigated Agriculture Capacity Building

...To get more news updates, Join our WhatsApp Group (Click Here) and Telegram Group(Click Here)
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.